Supporting the ‘Undergraduate of the Year’ awards

Shelina, Nicola and Natasha attended the TARGETjobs Undergraduate of the Year Awards, they give their thoughts.


Shelina, Nicola and Natasha at the ‘Undergraduate of the Year’ awards

For the first time the Civil Service Fast Stream sponsored an award, ‘Future Civil Service Leader of the Year‘, which was open to all undergraduates from lower socio-economic backgrounds. The winner is given a place on the Summer Diversity Internship Programme (SDIP) and has the opportunity to shadow a Permanent Secretary for a day. 450 people applied, which far surpassed the numbers of applicants even for some of the large corporate sponsored awards!

It was amazing to see such interest and a strong argument for why we need to continue to drive engagement with students from diverse socio-economic backgrounds. The 10 finalists for the Civil Service Future Leader award were brilliant and some are already applying to or accepting places on the Fast Stream so we need to keep working to make sure the scheme is a welcome place for them and that the process is fair. Overall it was a great event, we hope that we can continue to attend similar events and provide the opportunity to all of you to be involved.


Hayat won the award and we look forward to welcoming those applying for the Fast Stream later this year!

Winner: Hayat Mohamed | London School of Economics and Political Science, University of London | International History

Hayat is an International History student at the London School of Economics. As the founder and President of the LSE Somali Society, Hayat has shown the ability to embrace new challenges. Hayat represents her cohort on the Student-Staff Liaison Committee, and is also a mentor to first year students living off-campus. Hayat enjoys being a Student Ambassador for Widening Participation and a Brand Manager for Teach First, as she is passionate about tackling educational inequality in the UK. Having received the highest A-Level results at her school, Hayat was awarded the Deputy Head Teacher’s Award in 2014.


Steven Adams | University of Southampton | History | Paul Blackburn | University of Hull | Management & Business |Sidrah Choudhry | University of Stirling | International Politics | Linda Epstein | School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London | Politics | Sanju Ganesan | University of Leicester | LLB Law | Charlotte Mulhearn | University College London, University of London | European Social and Political Studies | Uroosa Syed | University of Westminster | International Relations | Jason Tran | University of Warwick | Politics | Laura Waddilove | Cardiff University | Politics


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s